The Killers made a teenage fan´s dreams come true over the weekend by inviting him to rock out with the band onstage.

The stars were performing at the Riptide Music Festival in Fort Lauderdale, Florida on Saturday (23Nov19) when frontman Brandon Flowers spotted Jayson Verebay´s sign in the audience, asking for the opportunity to back the group up on the drums.

The singer obliged and had bandmate Ronnie Vannucci Jr. hand over his drum sticks to the 17 year old so he could take on percussion duties for their song For Reasons Unknown.

The impromptu jam session was such a success, the crowd even broke out into a chant, repeating Verebay´s name.

After the once-in-a-lifetime moment, Verebay told Rolling Stone his heart had been "pounding" and he was "actually shaking" as he stepped up onstage to show off his talents.

"It was the most mind-boggling experience ever," he said, admitting he had been working on perfecting the beat in the hopes of one day scoring the opportunity to perform with The Killers.

"I know that the band´s played this song before and I´ve just been practicing to live versions of it for the past month," he explained. "But I didn´t think it would actually happen for me. I thought I would forget everything, but I got it down."

"This is something I´ve been dreaming about for a long time," the youngster added. "It was the most incredible experience and I´m still speechless."

Retour à l'accueil